Cupids Legacy Centre

Identity area

Identifier

NL0071

Authorized form of name

Cupids Legacy Centre

Parallel form(s) of name

Other form(s) of name

Type

  • Community

Contact area

 

Peter Laracy, General Manager Primary contact

Type

Address

Street address

368 Seaforest Drive, Cupids

Locality

Region

NL

Country name

Canada

Postal code

A0A 2B0

Telephone

709-528-1610, 709-528-3500

Fax

709-528-9772

Email

Note

Description area

History

The Cupids Legacy Centre is a heritage interpretation centre. Its exhibits and interpretive program have been designed to tell the story of the establishment of the first permanent English settlement in Canada established in 1610 by the Newfoundland Company under the sponsorship of a group of entrepreneurs who were members of the Society of Merchant Venturers of Bristol and London under the leadership of Governor John Guy of Bristol, England. The Legacy Centre’s exhibits also explore the 400 year history of life in rural Newfoundland using the stories of Cupids and its inhabitants to illustrate the rich heritage and culture that has evolved through the efforts of those over the centuries who have chosen to stay here and call this their home. Cupids (est. 1610) is to the history of the English in Canada (the first English settlement in Canada) what Quebec City (est. 1608) is to the history of the French in Canada (the first French settlement in Canada). Cupids, or Cupers Cove as it was originally called, is second only to Jamestown, Virginia established in 1607, which is the first and thus oldest English settlement in North America. Many of the lessons learned through the endeavours of the pioneers who came to Cupids were used to subsequently facilitate successful year round habitation and the growth of permanent settlements elsewhere along the coast of Newfoundland.

The interpretive program at the Cupids Legacy Centre is based firstly on the 170,000 archaeological artifacts recovered from the active archaeological site that exists in Cupids at the location of the original settlement established in 1610. This site is a Provincial Historic Site known as Cupids Cove Plantation. The archaeological artifacts are complemented by thousands of historical artifacts that have been donated by residents of Cupids, the surrounding Baccalieu Trail region and friends of the Centre from farther afield. Both types of physical artifacts are further supported by copies of historically relevant documents that date from the 17th century through to the 20th century. In addition, a considerable library of community based oral histories as well as, photographs, journals, diaries, ship’s logs, wills etc. have been collected from individuals both living and deceased. A professionally researched storyline has been used as the basis for the development of an interpretive plan that utilizes a selection of the key resources outlined above. Within the context of a detailed interpretive plan these resources are then woven together with relevant text to create compelling exhibits that relate significant stories illustrating the history, heritage and culture of the people from this community/province. Many of the exhibits incorporate modern interactive multimedia components and technology based communicative devices.

The Cupids Legacy Centre is comprised of a number of key components:
• The main lobby where the visitor is oriented to the Centre and the background to its key stories. Reception/registration, visitor information services and washrooms are also located in this entrance area.
• A 2500 square foot main exhibit hall containing the exhibits that focus on themes such as Guy’s Settlement, Going By Sea, On the Labrador, In the Kitchen, Abandoned Communities, Archaeological Excavations, School and Church in Rural Newfoundland, the John Guy Tercentenary Celebrations, the Spectacle Head Panorama Project, Around the Bay, to name several examples
• A museum shop contains a varied collection of program related local craft items, as well as, gifts and souvenirs
• A Family History Resource Centre which houses an extensive collection of archival and research material and which also holds hundreds of family history documents
• A multipurpose hall with exterior deck and fully equipped kitchen. It is equipped with access to the internet, professional sound and projection systems, tables, chairs, chart stands, and adjustable lighting, as well as, air conditioning. This location has been used to host cultural, theatrical, community based social events, as well as, conferences and corporate workshops and training seminars.
• A roof top exterior deck and faerie garden that is perfect for magnificent views of the local topography, as well as, a unique location for staging events that explore our intangible cultural heritage
• A well equipped conference/board room for meetings of groups of up to 12 individuals

Geographical and cultural context

Mandates/Sources of authority

Administrative structure

Records management and collecting policies

Buildings

Holdings

Finding aids, guides and publications

Access area

Opening times

Mid June - Mid October:Hours of operation are 9:30 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. seven days a week
Mid October - Mid June: The museum is open by appointment for research purposes and tours

Access conditions and requirements

Visitors are required to pay a fee for admission. Please reference our facility's website for current pricing options.

Accessibility

Free parking (40 paved spaces plus overflow suitable for automobiles) Onsite parking for buses is available.
Handicapped parking spaces (2)
Entrances on all floors and washrooms are accessible via wheelchair as well as by elevator.

Services area

Research services

Reproduction services

Photocopier on site. There are fees for these services

Public areas

Wireless and wired access to the internet is available in all spaces throughout the Centre.
2000 sq ft. air conditioned multipurpose hall available for rent equipped with the following:
 Projector and screen available for presentations e.g. Power Point
 Wired and wireless access to the internet
 Access to a wired speaker phone for teleconference useage
 Microphone, speakers, DVD player and audio player, flip charts and stands available
 Tables and comfortable, cloth padded chairs for seating up to 130 people in meeting or banquet mode (can accommodate up to 180 people in theatre/conference mode setup)
 Access to a modern kitchen with all equipment and materials needed to address meal requirements ranging from refreshment breaks to fully catered hot meals
 Access to the services of three local catering providers
 An exterior deck is available right outside the meeting area
 Access to guided and/or non guided tours available as part of a rental package
300 sq ft. Boardroom available for rent equipped with the following:
 Projector and screen available for presentations e.g. Power Point
 Wired and wireless access to the internet
 Access to a wired speaker phone for teleconference usage
 A large board room table with 12 comfortable board room chairs
 A refreshment centre with a counter and cupboards, sink with running hot and cold water, a coffee maker, a microwave and a fridge
 Flip charts and stands

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Final

Level of detail

Partial

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

January 6, 2015

Language(s)

  • English

Script(s)

Sources

Maintenance notes

Access points

Access Points

  • Clipboard

Primary contact

368 Seaforest Drive, Cupids
, NL
CA A0A 2B0